Home > mexico > Baja Road Trip 2012

Baja Road Trip 2012

San Ysidro Border Crossing into Mexico - Cropped

I’m thrilled to be embarking on my first road trip into Baja California, Mexico. It fulfills an intention I’ve had since being a teen-ager.

I’m relative inexperienced when it comes to travelling through Mexico. I first visited the country in 2002. I started at what I considered to be the heart of the country and flew directly to Mexico City. I spent a few days exploring neighborhoods and then Executivo bussed myself to Oaxaca city. I enjoyed several days in Oaxaca before second class bussing myself to Puerto Escondido on the southern Pacific coast. It was a tremendous vacation conducted on public transportation. I did not return to Mexico until 2011 courtesy of Bill Esparza “aka Street Gourmet LA” who coordinated a bus trip down to Tijuana to enjoy the First Annual Baja Culinary Festival.

Now it’s 2012, and as you can see from the pic, I’m driving myself across the San Ysido border between San Diego and Tijuana. I’m on my way to Valle de Guadaupe and Ensenada to spend the week.

Granted this is only dipping my toe into Baja, but it is a good start and encouraging me that I’ll have return trips where I drive father south and see both the Pacific and Gulf of Mexico sides of the peninsula.

I welcome any recommendations for what to do while I’m here.

Categories: mexico
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

