Home > Uncategorized > Returning to SXSW in 2013

Returning to SXSW in 2013

I’m on the verge of seeing my last band on my second – and final 😦 – night at SXSW. I’ve been here solo for the music portion and am actively recruiting friends to experience this with next year.

That’s the silver lining, I’ve gotten a taste and am eager to return for a main course of weekend entertainment next year. So much music and so urban compared to where my imagination goes when I consider Coachella. I am waiting for an “Occupy SXSW” with spontaneous camps, but for now it looks like the majority of people prefer to sleep in doors.

Okay. So wrapping up my second night I’ll share the bands I saw perform today. It would make me so happy if even one person got turned on to a band as a result of this post!

First up;
Oberhofer – I hadn’t realized how many of the tracks I knew until I saw them perform love. Lots of songs about separation. Please complain if I get this wrong, but I conclude, sounds like Vampire Weekend. This performance comes KCRW endorsed.

Next:
Had to see Apache Relay perform live given the chance to see them a second night in a row. Check out this Nashville, TN ensemble.

Third up:
Bleached. Three women, one male drummer. Enjoyed set.

Fourth:
Stumbles into a quite pleasurable country performance in an Episcapalion Church by Anais Mitchell. Reminded me of a hipster (look) Dolly Parton.

Fifth:
Bear Hands.

20120315-111802.jpg

20120316-105159.jpg

20120316-105231.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

