Home > Uncategorized > A Perfect Christmas Dinner in London

A Perfect Christmas Dinner in London

Erin and I enjoyed a perfect Christmas dinner at Bar Boloud our first night in London.

The flavors matched those I expected to satisfy me on a chilly, northern winter’s night.

The amuse bouche distilled all such flavors into a spirit lifting broth of white bean and white truffle soup. It’s steamy heat enlivened me from the outside chill.

For my first course, I had a delectable duck / pistachio terrine served with a spoonful of cranberry jam and miniature ginger bread biscuits. I paired this with a dry burgundy. New rule – I serve duck terrine at all my parties.

I zeroed in on my second course from the word short-rib without realizing it came with a rib-eye steak as well. These meats were accompanied with a compressed spinach packet and the cutest potato dauphine. We had a glass of a 1995 Bordeaux with this richer course.

For dessert I had buch du Noel for the first time, though I’ve fantasized about this holiday treat since my 8th grade introductory French class. Was the stuff of dreams!

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

