Home > spain > Best Lunch of my Life

Best Lunch of my Life

My longtime readers know I like to eat. I’m a foodie, an eater. Newer readers need to know my primary past time is eating. Not cooking, eating. Therefore making the statement that I just experienced the best lunch of my life is a big deal.

I must qualify that the meal had the advantage of being on a hill directly across from a UNESCO world heritage site and had a panoramic view of the subject the Al Hambra. Therefore the atmosphere (and view) is what makes this the best lunch of my life.

Nevertheless without delicious, regional food – in this case Andalusian in Granada – the impressive and encompassing view would not have qualified the meal as the best lunch of my life.

We ordered a bottle of wine from Granada – 1368 Cerros de Manjos vintage 2003 – that we drank slowly as to allow it to open up.

Erin ordered an aubergine salad that was in fact more of a delicious stack of french fries as the eggplant was julienned and deep fried in a delicate batter – served with honey dipping sauce. I had a bowl of gazpacho which was surprisingly better than the recipe I make sourced from KCRW. http://goodfoodonkcrw.vox.com/library/post/gazpacho-recipe.html

For entrees Erin ordered a blood sausage pudding with a mango compote and cookie crumble topping accompanied by a port reduction sauce. I has solomillo (grilled tenderloin/ filet mignon) with the same port reduction and the enhancement of froie gras.

For dessert we had a flan prepared as a creme brûlée with a fragile caramel topping. We also ate piononos, a Granada specialty of cake rolled with caramel like a cinnamon roll served with a rich cream flavored with cinnamon.

I ordered a digestif of what turned out to be an extremely long pour of cognac. Then enjoyed the complementary shot of honey rum served with la cuenta.

The food was impeccably prepared and matched the impeccable view of the Al Hambra I focused on while enjoying the meal from my open-window, table-side, and elevated view. I was able to take in the scale of Al Hambra for over two full hours. This external, distant survey seved to prepare me for my afternoon and evening visits of Al Hambra scheduled the next day.

I must give credit to the restaurant that made this all possible… Las Estellas Mirador San Nicolas located in Placeta San Nicolas in the Albayzin neighborhood of Granada.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g187441-d1470075-Reviews-Las_Estrellas_Mirador_San_Nicolas-Granada_Granada_Province_Andalusia.html

P.S. I apologize but I have yet to figure out how to post pics with the iPhone wordpress app. Once I get to a computer I’ll post Spain pics.

Categories: spain Tags:
  1. DiMom
    September 29, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    This made me cry to think about you two sharing such a rare time together. I”m so happy for you both. I can’t believe you are writing your long blogs on an iPhone!! Love, MOM

  2. Sheryl Biesman
    September 30, 2010 at 4:44 am

    The Al Hambra you describe sounds much nicer than it’s namesake here in Los Angeles. Loved reading the post. I agree with your mom – can’t believe you managed such a terrific blog post from your iphone. Very impressive. Hope you’ll have time for a few more before you leave Spain! Sheryl

  3. katie
    October 1, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    I love this! I’ll keep checking back. I remember walking through the Al Hambra totally transported to another time!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

