Home > spain > Churros y chocolate

Churros y chocolate

When I woke up on my second day in Madrid, a single thought dominated my mind… ‘must have churros y chocolate’ for breakfast. I was fascinated with the concept, but until this trip mistakenly assumed this was only a Mexican tradition as that was my first exposure to the sweet, fried deliciousness.

I expected to just go to any old place serving churros so imagine my surprise when the concierge recommended that I take a short walk to Chocolateria St Genis Madrids most famous location serving the dish. We arrived around 9:15 encountering the brief period between 7am and 9:30am when the chocolateria is closed each day. Therefore it was just a short wait before we were seated with a plate of 20cm long and 0.5cm churros and a cup of melted chocolate for dipping. While we were enjoying this rich breakfast the table beside us ordered a grande churro about 2.5 cm wide. We indulgently tried those as well.

Categories: spain Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

